Yesterday 129 Labour MPs voted to stop support for Saudi Arabia’s campaign in Yemen. The vote was defeated by a majority of 90.

The motion called for support to be withdrawn from the Saudi government until a United Nations investigation could determine whether the Saudi bombing campaign had breached international law. The motion did not explicitly include a suspension of UK arms sales.

Over 100 Labour MPs did not vote on the motion. If all of them had voted to support it, the government would have been defeated.

The following list are the Labour MPs who abstained or were not present for the vote yesterday.

  1. Adrian Bailey
  2. Andy Burnham
  3. Angela Eagle
  4. Angela Smith
  5. Ann Clwyd
  6. Ann Coffey
  7. Anna Turley
  8. Barry Sheerman
  9. Ben Bradshaw
  10. Bridgit Phillipson
  11. Caroline Flint
  12. Catherine McKinnell
  13. Chris Bryant
  14. Chris Elmore (Teller)
  15. Chris Evans
  16. Chris Leslie
  17. Clive Lewis (ill)
  18. Connor McGinn
  19. Dan Jarvis
  20. David Crausby
  21. David Lammy
  22. Diana Johnson
  23. Fiona MacTaggart
  24. Frank Field
  25. Gareth Thomas
  26. Gavin Shuker
  27. Geoffrey Robinson
  28. George Howarth
  29. Gerald Kaufman
  30. Gill Furniss
  31. Gisela Stuart
  32. Gloria De Piero
  33. Graeme Jones
  34. Graham Allen
  35. Graham Stringer
  36. Heidi Alexander
  37. Helen Jones
  38. Ian Austin
  39. Ian Murray
  40. Ivan Lewis
  41. Jamie Reed
  42. Jim Fitzpatrick
  43. Joan Ryan
  44. John Mann
  45. John Spellar
  1. John Woodcock
  2. Judith Cummins (Teller)
  3. Julie Elliott
  4. Kate Hoey
  5. Keith Vaz
  6. Kevan Jones
  7. Kevin Barron
  8. Liz Kendall
  9. Luciana Berger
  10. Lucy Powell
  11. Madeleine Moon
  12. Margaret Beckett
  13. Margaret Hodge
  14. Maria Eagle
  15. Mark Hendrick
  16. Mary Creagh
  17. Meg Hillier (Paired)
  18. Melanie Onn
  19. Michael Dugher
  20. Mike Gapes
  21. Natascha Engel
  22. Neil Coyle
  23. Nia Griffith
  24. Pat McFadden
  25. Paul Flynn
  26. Peter Kyle
  27. Phil Wilson
  28. Rachel Reeves
  29. Rob Flello
  30. Rob Marris
  31. Roberta Blackman-Woods
  32. Rosie Cooper
  33. Rushanara Ali
  34. Ruth Smeeth
  35. Shabana Mahmood
  36. Siobhain McDonagh
  37. Stephen Kinnock
  38. Susan Jones
  39. Toby Perkins
  40. Tom Blenkinsopp
  41. Tom Watson
  42. Tracy Brabin
  43. Tristram Hunt
  44. Vernon Coaker
  45. Wayne David
  46. Wes Streeting
  47. Yasmin Qureshi
  48. Yvonne Fovargue

Become An Evolve Politics Subscriber

Your subscriptions go directly into paying our writers a standard fee for every article they produce. So if you want to help us stay truly independent, please think about subscribing. We literally couldn’t function without the support of our fantastic readers.


Or a one-off donation to Evolve Politics

If you don’t want to subscribe, but still want to contribute to our project, you can make a one-off donation via the donate button below. Or you can donate directly via PayPal, using our donation address: [email protected]

Facebook Comments