-- Advertisement --

DWP Secretary Esther McVey becomes third Tory Minister to QUIT

-- Advertisement --

Stay in touch!

Sign up to be updated with Evolve's latest stories, and for opportunities to get involved.

DWP Secretary Esther McVey has become the third Tory Minister to quit in as many hours over Theresa May’s highly contentious proposed Brexit deal.

McVey joins the Brexit Secretary Dominic Raab and the Minister of state for Northern Ireland Shailesh Vara to quit the Cabinet in the last three hours.

It is now unquestionable that an organised coup is underway against the Prime Minister.

Sources also indicate that another Minister is primed to resign shortly before Theresa May’s statement to the House of Commons at 10:30.

UPDATE: Indeed they have. Suella Braverman, a Minister in Theresa May’s Brexit department, has also now gone.

-- Advertisement --

Evolve needs your help more than ever!

We rely on the generosity of our readers to help fund the majority of our work - but we need a little more to make ends meet and enable us to grow.

If we can reach 1,000 regular subscribers, we will become entirely financially sustainable - and we'll also have a little extra so we can build upwards and outwards to make our work have an even bigger impact.

In the last month alone, our work on the Environment Bill has helped force a change in the law for the better. And, since Evolve was founded, our uniquely viral style of journalism has repeatedly put the establishment on the back foot and helped force genuinely positive progression.

But we want to do far more - and we need your help to do it.

The best way you can help us is by becoming a Monthly or Annual subscriber. This kind of regular income allows us to better plan for the future - firstly so we can pay the bills, and then so we can set aside funds and time to work on extra projects.

However, if you can't commit to a regular payment, one-off donations - no matter how small - also make a big difference to us, and we genuinely make the most of every single penny.

So, if you appreciate the work that Evolve does and you want to see us make an even bigger impact on the world, please think about contributing to our work in whatever way you possibly can.

Tom D. Rogers

Co-Founder, Contributing Editor

Jess Miller

Co-Founder, Contributing Editor

Subscriber-Only Comments